Budgeting

So here are a few questions of the week for ya’ll to ponder and share your thoughts as you feel comfortable.

The topic: Money and Budgeting

Question #1: How much money do you budget for groceries per month (and in relation how many people live with you!)

Question #2: How much money do you budget for savings,, be it stocking into emergency savings or for other things.

Question #3: How many months of emergency savings do you have and/or working toward obtaining (whats the goal!?)

Question #4: How do you account for birthday and holiday gifting in your budget,, even things as simple as bringing a bottle of wine to someone’s house for a dinner party.. where does that come out of?

Question #5: What are your favorite non-spending activities (other than the obvious,, be at home with my family).

Thanks for your answers and contributions. As suspected, I’m working on streamlining my finances. Member months ago when I wrote about the ‘trifecta’ and how I have trouble keeping all three working (money, exercise, food)… well I think I might be getting more on track so while the last two are under control… #1 is the new focus!

hugs
D

Originally posted at Danielle’s Meandering Thoughts on 10/7/9

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elise on February 14, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Our grocery budget is approximately $300 and that includes household products and diapers. Sooooo, I guess it is really $200. Right now we don’t save. We just get out of debt. I would like to have 1 year’s worth of emergency savings. I will suffice with 6 months, but 1 year is my goal. We also have cut out gifts so no one gets gifts…except for our little man of course. And even then it is not much. Last night me and Kevin went to the bookstore and just hung out and we had such a fabulous time. I also look for free things to do around the community.

    Reply

  2. Those are some great guidelines, tough to follow through with!! I would only warn against not saving if your a one-income home. No job is secure and no paycheck is guaranteed and while debt is the priority, there should be a stockpile to grow on its own for ‘just in case’. Especially with this economy. If you can live on one income and you have two going in, by all means debt only but if your on one income.. I would rather hedge my bests against myself then against my employers graciousness to keep me.

    Reply

Leave a comment